skip to main content

« Back to news list
2015 MPSD Administrator and Teacher of the Year

Candi Robertson, Principal of West Hills Elementary School, will represent the Meridian Public School District as 2015 Administrator of the Year, and Linda Posey, fifth grade Science Teacher at Poplar Springs Elementary, will represent MPSD as 2015 Teacher of the Year.

MPSD Administrator of the Year and West Hills Principal Candi Robertson (left) and MPSD Superintendent Dr. Alvin Taylor (right).

As Principal of West Hills Elementary and with 13 years of experience in the field of education, Robertson leads the second highest performing elementary school in the Meridian Public School District. West Hills is also the fourth highest performing elementary school in the East Mississippi area. Under her leadership, West Hills has earned a “C” rating for two of the last three years.

“In three years, Ms. Robertson has moved one of the lowest performing schools in our District to one of the highest performing schools, and that is what Administrator of the Year is all about,” said MPSD Superintendent Dr. Alvin Taylor.

Robertson holds a Specialist Degree in Education Administration and Leadership.


MPSD Teacher of the Year Linda Posey (center) with Poplar Springs Elementary School Principal LaVonda Germany (left) and MPSD Superintendent Dr. Alvin Taylor (right).

The 2015 Teacher of the Year Linda Posey has over 26 years of teaching experience and holds a Master’s Degree. Posey has been teaching fifth grade Science at Poplar Springs Elementary for five years, and she helped guide 90 percent of her students to score advanced and proficient (the highest levels) on the 2013-14 state test.

“When you watch Linda in the classroom, you see a teacher who has planned and is prepared. She understands what it means to have high standards for her students and what it means to go the extra distance to help a child be successful,” said Poplar Springs Elementary School Principal LaVonda Germany. “She continues to amaze me with what her students accomplish, and this is seen in her test data.”

“I am pleased to be able to honor hard working teachers and administrators, and Ms. Robertson and Ms. Posey are so deserving of this distinction,” said Taylor.

The MPSD Teacher of the Year is chosen from those who represent their individual schools as Teacher of the Year. Congratulations to the following Teachers of the Year for each school:

Crestwood Elementary School – Carla Murphy

Oakland Heights Elementary School – Brandi Smith

Parkview Elementary School – Sophia Evins

Poplar Springs Elementary School – Linda Posey

T.J. Harris Upper Elementary School – Tatricia Walker

T. J. Harris Lower Elementary School – Anastasia "Stacy" Shuler

West Hills Elementary School – Carla Bonner

Carver Middle School – Cicily Patton

Magnolia Middle School – Dyamond Borland

Northwest Middle School – Kimberly Hill

Meridian High School – Michael Clymer

Ross Collins Career and Technical Center – Martin Jack

Marion Park Alternative School – Lori Gatlin

School Supplies
1019 25th Ave | Meridian, MS 39301 | PH: 601-483-6271