skip to main content

Click to See the Latest Update from MPSD!

2012 Teacher of the Year back button

Jennifer DuPont, third grade math and science teacher at Poplar Springs Elementary, will represent the Meridian Public School District as 2012 Teacher of the Year.


With over 14 years of teaching experience, DuPont was selected based on her outstanding efforts in the classroom. Her students consistently score “Star” status on the MCT2 (state test) given each year in May. DuPont serves as a “Model Classroom Teacher” for her school, mentors new teachers, and presents her strategies for success at conferences.

DuPont will also represent MPSD in the State Teacher of the Year program hosted by the Teacher Center at the Mississippi Department of Education.

Click here to read the full story from the Meridian Star.


Each school in the District also chooses a Teacher of the Year:


Crestwood Elementary: Shevondra Clayton

T.J. Harris Elementary: Carla Desmond

Oakland Heights Elementary: Elise Dickerson

Parkview Elementary: Kirby Simmons

Poplar Springs Elementary: Jennifer DuPont

West Hills Elementary: Kathy Scott

Carver Middle: Vickie Moseley

Magnolia Middle: Robin Hall

Northwest Middle: Jason Kidd

Meridian High: Donna Smith

Ross Collins: Laurel Rigdon


Congratulations to these teachers on their outstanding accomplishments and this huge honor!

Pictured left to right: Superintendent Dr. Alvin Taylor, MPSD Teacher of the Year Jennifer DuPont, Assistant Superintendent Amy Carter, and Assistant Superintendent Robin Miles

1019 25th Ave | Meridian, MS 39301 | PH: 601-483-6271