skip to main content

Click to See the Latest Update from MPSD!

MPSD Names Vanessa Kincaide as 2015 Parent of the Year back button

 Dr. Alvin Taylor (left), MPSD Superintendent, congratulates Vanessa Kincaide (right), 2015 MPSD Parent of the Year.


Vanessa Kincaide, parent of a second grade Oakland Heights Elementary School student, has been named the 2015 Parent of the Year for the Meridian Public School District.


“Parents are the foundation to the success of students,” said MPSD Superintendent Dr. Alvin Taylor. “Ms. Kincaide’s involvement and dedication is exemplary and sets an example of what other parents should strive for regarding involvement in their child’s education. We are so proud to have her represent the Meridian Public School District as Parent of the Year.”


Kincaide has been actively involved at Oakland Heights since her daughter began pre-kindergarten. She supports the school through volunteer efforts in the classroom, involvement in the Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) and fundraisers, and supporting the school’s efforts to show appreciation to teachers.


“Ms. Kincaide is always dependable, efficient, unfailingly punctual, and detail oriented,” said Oakland Heights Principal Barbara Young. “During her volunteer work, Ms. Kincaide assists with Literacy stations and reads with students that need help all while showing remarkable patience and admirable tact. She loves children, works hard, and always tries to lift the spirits of those around her. We are very grateful for Ms. Kincaide and all that she does to help move Oakland Heights forward.”                                              

The MPSD Parent of the Year is chosen from those who represent their individual schools as Parent of the Year. Congratulations to the following Parents of the Year for each school:

Crestwood Elementary – Tiffany Davis

Oakland Heights Elementary – Vanessa Kincaide

Parkview Elementary – Brenda Walker

Poplar Springs Elementary – Beth Turnage

T.J. Harris Lower Elementary – Eloise McQuarters

T.J. Harris Upper Elementary – Sabrina Wilson

West Hills Elementary – Cynthia Griffin

Carver Middle – Linda Flowers

Magnolia Middle – Judge Veldore Young-Graham

Northwest Middle – Darryl Mosley

Marion Park – LaSonya Easterling

Parents of the Year for each school pictured left to right front row – Linda Flowers, Carver Middle School; Cynthia Griffin, West Hills Elementary School; Eloise McQuarters, T.J. Harris Lower Elementary School; Beth Turnage, Poplar Springs Elementary School; back row – Dr. Alvin Taylor, MPSD Superintendent; LaSonya Easterling, Marion Park School; Darryl Mosley, Northwest Middle School; Sabrina Wilson, T.J. Harris Upper Elementary School; Judge Veldore Young-Graham, Magnolia Middle School; Brenda Walker, Parkview Elementary School; and Vanessa Kincaide; Oakland Heights Elementary School. Not pictured: Tiffany Davis, Crestwood Elementary School.



1019 25th Ave | Meridian, MS 39301 | PH: 601-483-6271